Home Page

Freshfield Primary School

Welcome to

Freshfield Primary School

‘Committed to Excellence: we inspire, grow and thrive together.’

Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)

In the Early Years at Freshfield Primary School, we have a creative curriculum that is tailored to recognise children’s prior learning as well as their unique experiences and interests, providing first hand learning experiences, whilst allowing the children to build resilience, ambition and integrity. Every child is recognised as a unique individual and we celebrate and welcome differences within our school community. The ability to learn is underpinned by the teaching of basic skills, knowledge, concepts and values.

Our aim is to provoke curiosity within our learning environment enabling children to develop a lifelong love of learning. Throughout their time in the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS), our children develop a sense of belonging within our school community. They have confidence and skills to make decisions, self-evaluate, make connections and become resilient learners. 

Our curriculum is planned for both inside and outside of the classroom and equal importance is given to learning in both areas. We ensure activities planned indoors and outdoors support the Characteristics of Effective Learning, including; Playing and Exploring – children can investigate and experience things, and have a go; Active Learning – children can show concentration and keep on trying if they encounter difficulties, and enjoy achievements; Creating and Thinking Critically – children have and develop their own ideas, they can make links between ideas and develop strategies for doing things.

The Nursery and Reception Team continuously work to ensure that all children in Reception are surrounded by a kind, caring and happy environment which helps them develop the same skills in their journey through school. We aim for our school to be a positive place where resilience, perseverance and successes are celebrated and every child feels valued and respected. 

Our intent:

  • to work in partnership with parents and carers to encourage independent, happy learners who thrive in school and reach their full potential from their various starting points;
  • to understand and follow children's interests and provide opportunities throughout our EYFS curriculum to support learning, consolidate and deepen knowledge, skills and understanding to ensure children overcome barriers;
  • to create an indoor and outdoor environment which supports learning;
  • to support children in reaching the Early Learning Goals at the end of the Foundation Stage and ensure children make good progress;
  • to effectively support transition into Key Stage One.

Please click on the stars below to find out further details about each of the areas of the EYFS Framework.



EYFS Curriculum Overview