Home Page

Freshfield Primary School

Welcome to

Freshfield Primary School

‘Committed to Excellence: we inspire, grow and thrive together.’

Emotion Works

What is Emotion Works?

The model of emotion (cog model) is a visual curriculum that scaffolds the emotion works teaching and learning programme. The model contains 7 different coloured cogs and each of them represent a different aspect of emotion to look at and learn about.



From Reception up to Year 4, the children will primarily learn about the 5-cog model. Focusing on the vocabulary, the body sensations, the behaviours, regulating and triggers.                      


In year 5 and 6, the cog model is extended to include the intensity cog and the influences cog.


For more information, please see the guide below.





Emotion Works Parents' Guide